The Six Seasons and Seasonal Conduct (Rutucharya) as per Ayurved

The Six Seasons and Seasonal Conduct (Rutucharya) as per Ayurved

To live a healthy life, it is important to adapt ourselves to the climatic conditions around us. This means that we must bring changes to our lifestyle and to our diet during different seasons. In this article, we explore seasons, and the seasonal conduct as per Ayurved.

The Six Seasons

Seasons English Seasons English Months Hindu Months
Hemant (हेमंत)
Early Winter
Mid November to Mid January

(मार्गशीष - पौष)
Shishir (शिशिर)
Late Winter
Mid January to Mid March

(माघ – फाल्गुन)
Vasant (वसंत)
Mid March to Mid May

(चैत्र - वैशाख)
Greeshma (ग्रीष्म)
Mid May to Mid July

(ज्येष्ठ - आषाढ)
Varsha (वर्षा)
Mid July to Mid September

(श्रावण - भाद्रपद)
Sharad (शरद)
Mid September to Mid November

(अश्विन - कार्तिक)

The Seasonal Variations in Doshas

Doshas undergo seasonal variations with change in the season. A certain type of Dosha is aggravated in a particular season while another is pacified. It’s important that we maintain the equilibrium of Doshas to protect ourselves from diseases due to seasonal variations. Let’s begin with understanding the nature of Doshas in every season.

Dosha Accumulation (Chaya) चय Aggravation (Prakopa) प्रकोप Pacification (Prasham) प्रशम
Vata (वात)
Greeshma (ग्रीष्म)
Varsha (वर्षा)
Sharad (शरद)
Pitta पित्त
Varsha (वर्षा)
Sharad (शरद)
Hemant (हेमंत)
Kapha कफ
Hemant, Shishir (हेमंत, शिशिर)
Vasant (वसंत)
Greeshma (ग्रीष्म)

The following articles describe in detail the conduct and diet to be followed in each of the seasons, so that the equilibrium of the Doshas is maintained:


Leave a Reply